1. Two spades. The partner of a player who passed originally is not bound by the same rules that govern many other bidding sequences. For example, if South responds with only one spade after passing initially, North is not forced to bid again, since he knows South lacked the values for an opening bid. North may therefore decide that game is impossible and pass.
For this reason, it is best to jump-shift to two spades with the given hand to inform partner that there is a good chance for game despite your previous pass. A one-spade response would be correct if partner had opened with one diamond, which would diminish the value of your hand, but opposite a one-heart opening, your chances for game rise tremendously. The two-spade bid, which can be passed if partner has minimal values, shows fi