The officials ruled that the Ravens made a field goal in the fourth quarter on Monday night, even though it wasn’t clear that the kick, which went over the left upright, was actually good. That question, however, is not reviewable.
Although field goals and extra point tries can be reviewed on replay, they are not reviewable when the kick is higher than the top of the uprights, according to the NFL’s rules.
“Whether a field goal or Try attempt crossed above the crossbar and inside the uprights is reviewable, but only if the ball crosses the plane of the goal post below the top of the uprights, or if the ball touches anything,” the NFL’s replay policies say.
So what constitutes a ball going inside the uprights, when the ball is higher than the uprights? The whole ball has to be inside the