Dasun Shanaka came out to bat for Sri Lanka against India in the Super Over of the Asia Cup 2025 Super 4s match on Friday, September 26. On the fourth ball of the Super Over bowled by Arshdeep Singh, Shanaka was declared caught behind by the on-field umpire after the left-arm pacer appealed for the dismissal.
Shanaka challenged the on-field umpire’s decision, and in the DRS, there was no spike, so he survived.
The third umpire’s decision to declare Shanaka not out created confusion on the field, as, apart from getting caught behind, he also got run out. So even if there was no spike and he survived the caught-behind appeal, he should have been given a run-out.
But according to the rules, as explained by Cricbuzz, Shanaka was given not out because he was given out caught behind first, an