Aug 29, 2025; Boulder, Colorado, USA; Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets head coach Brent Key following the game winning touchdown by quarterback Haynes King (10) (not pictured) in the fourth quarter against the Colorado Buffaloes at Folsom Field. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-Imagn Images

Georgia Tech football avoided its first loss of the season on Saturday, as Brent Key's squad came from behind to defeat Wake Forest on the road.

The 17th-ranked Yellow Jackets got a stop in overtime thanks to Clayton Powell-Lee, who intercepted Wake Forest quarterback Robby Ashford on a 2-point attempt. Powell-Lee's interception sealed the 30-29 win for Georgia Tech to go into its bye week undefeated at 5-0 on the season.

In the aftermath of the Yellow Jackets' largest comeback victory since 1998, curiosity and heated discussion on college football messaging boards have arisen on whether Georgia Tech had a player offside on defense late in the fourth quarter.

The play in question was third-and-5 with 1:48 remaining in the fourth quarter with Wake Forest leading 23-20 at the time.

Here's what to know:

Was Georgia Tech offside late vs Wake Forest on third-and-5?

Yes, as shown in the clip below, it does appear that Georgia Tech had one of its defensive linemen offside on third-and-5 late in the fourth quarter as Wake Forest was attempting to kill the clock on offense.

On that play, Wake Forest quarterback Robby Ashford would throw an incomplete pass to Sterling Berkhalter, which stopped the clock and sent the Demon Deacons' punt unit onto the field, compared to a referee throwing a flag that would have extended the play. Georgia Tech, of course, would put together a nine-play, 54-yard drive to set up a game-tying field goal from Aidan Birr on the next play.

Per, Rule 2, Section 18, Article 2 of the NCAA rulebook, the Yellow Jackets should have been called for offsides as one of their defensive players was "beyond the neutral zone before the ball is snapped."

Here's how Rule 2, Section 18, Article 2 of the NCAA rulebook defines a defensive player being offside:

After the ball is ready for play, offside occurs (Rule 7-1-5) when a defensive player:

  • A. Is in or beyond the neutral zone when the ball is legally snapped; or
  • B. Contacts an opponent beyond the neutral zone before the ball is snapped; or
  • C. Contacts the ball before it is snapped; or
  • D. Threatens an offensive lineman, causing an immediate reaction, before the ball is snapped (Rule 7-1-2-b-3-Exception, A.R. 7-1-3-V Note); or
  • E. Crosses the neutral zone and charges toward a Team A back (A.R. 7-1-5-III); or
  • F. Is not behind their restraining line when the ball is legally free-kicked (Rule 6-1-2).
    • Offside occurs when one or more players of the kicking team are not behind their restraining line when the ball is legally free-kicked. (Exception: The kicker and holder are not offside when they are beyond their restraining line.)

The Yellow Jackets (5-0, 2-0 in ACC play) return to action in Week 7 of the college football season after their Week 6 bye. Georgia Tech will host Virginia Tech on Saturday, Oct. 11 in Atlanta at Bobby Dodd Stadium.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: Was Georgia Tech football offsides vs Wake Forest late in fourth quarter?

Reporting by John Leuzzi, USA TODAY NETWORK / USA TODAY

USA TODAY Network via Reuters Connect