The Detroit Lions were involved in another odd officiating situation on Monday night in their game against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Early in the fourth quarter, the Lions challenged a play in which Buccaneers tight end Cade Otton was ruled to convert a fourth-and-2. On the play, Otton caught the ball, reached forward near the line to gain, and when he hit the ground, the ball jarred loose, and the Buccaneers recovered. Officials initially ruled that Otton had earned the first down for the Buccaneers.

However, the Lions opted to challenge the play. Coach Dan Campbell confirmed on Tuesday that they were challenging whether Otton completed the process of the catch. The hope was that Otton had not yet completed the process prior to going to the ground, and because the ground jarred the ball

See Full Page