Titans coach Brian Callahan on Monday accepted accountability for failing to challenge an incomplete pass to Elic Ayomanor in the third quarter of Sunday’s loss to Denver.
But Callahan seemed to offer different answers as to whether he didn’t understand the rule in question, or whether he simply misspoke during Sunday’s postgame news conference.
The play in question occurred on a first-and-20 situation, when Cam Ward connected with Ayomanor for a gain of at least 20 yards down the right sideline.
Ayomanor landed with one elbow on the field first, followed by two feet out of bounds. Officials ruled the catch out of bounds, though NFL rules say getting one body part in bounds first — such as an elbow — means a legal catch.
Callahan on Sunday said he didn’t challenge the call because he t